Mountain climbing school

 or 
all events
+7 926 233 3300 (whatsapp)
+44 793 7973396 (whatsapp)
 info@alexclimb.com

Ushba. Forbidden Mountain

Ushba. Forbidden mountain

(by Alex Trubachev -AlexClimb-)

Photos

I dedicate this text to my friends, who found their death climbing Ushba.

Central Caucasus, climbing Ushba

I am looking through the old photos. I see the rough faces of the people who risked their lives for the sake of the real friendship and common victory, indivisible to pieces. You see that common victory as the true friendship doesn’t know nor state nor national differences or borders. Some of this people are not among us anymore. But their deaths are not shroud in shameful wiles and vague explanations. All was clear and easy. They knew where and for what they were going. They knew what price they could pay. And they paid. Completely.

Central Caucasus, climbing Ushba This story, linked in elaborate knots with the mountain of strange and disturbing name Ushba, began long time ago. From time immemorial this mountain overhangs with its gloomy rock cliffs above Svanetian town Mestia, by its austere highness giving valour to the hearts of mountaineers and pride for their people. It is mystery how it works, but maybe "how" it is not so important. The most significant is that when some mere traveler, who got by chance to the dirt road which cuts steep rocky slope and serpentines down to ancient towers of Mestia, even the person from outside can feel clearly some strange tension in the air. And it is not so difficult to find the source of it – austere and lofty mountain of awesome correct outlines, which black basalt basement seems to rest upon the outskirts of Mestia, where half ruined ancient towers for nearly thousand years take after this mountain the example of majestic inaccessibility.

For Svanetia Ushba is not a usual mountain. Every men of this tiny country grows up with deep feeling of respect and awe for the most worthy personal trial - Ushba. The challenge for a man lays in the mere appearance of this mountain. Majestic and overbearing Ushba works as eternal reminding which provokes the most courageous to the impudent act, which doesn’t fit the scheme of needs of average narrow-minded way of life.
Without any lucrative impulse Svanetian men risk their lives for the sake of clear victory, senseless in the common point of view, but demanding to do utmost of human abilities and more for climbing the top of Ushba. Svanetians go to Ushba neither for money nor for rewards. There are no household or hunting interests. Climbing mountain of such difficulty by poor local people is the unique fact in its own way, amazing as all the past and present of Svanetia – small mountain country, the proud and independent character of which the Nature expressed in the form of the Mountain.

Central Caucasus, climbing Ushba In Svanetia there is no other reason for the supreme honor and people estimation as climbing Ushba – the mountain looking impossible for mortals. Especially for that unique quality I respect and esteem Svanetian people.

For us – Russian climbers who are used to look at Ushba from another side – from the North, this mountain has no such a metaphysical meaning as for the people of Svanetia, but nevertheless its appearance attracts people’s sights and makes them tremble. Stately two-summit mountain rightly dominates the whole line of Main Caucasian mountain Range. There cannot be any doubts – you are looking at Queen. The Highest. The most Well-shaped. The most Inaccessible.

None of the mountains of Caucasus does not bear such aureole of legends, stories and dramatic facts as Ushba. This mountain is the Legend itself, not less famous as Matterhorn - European symbol the Alpinism. There is something very similar in the appearance of these two mountains, some strange inside resemblance unites them...

There is also historical parallel between them. There wouldn’t be such dramatic tension and self-sacrifice in the birth of Alpinism in Alps if it were not Matterhorn. And who knows, how soviet mountain climbing was developing if it were not Ushba?!

For nearly ten generations of mountain climbers Ushba has become the base of their mastery, served as a criterion for their sporting maturity. By the stories of the legendary Ushba ascents young climbers were taught to love the mountains and pushed to perfect their climbing skills. But this desired goal didn’t yield to all of them. Cruelty and treachery of Ushba also were parts of this mountain’s fame. Many lives were broken here...

And as always I can hear this silent question – was it really worth of such price?! Woe to dear ones, sorrow to friends. For the sake of what?! Rock and ice, madness of mighty elements... But those who accepted the challenge and stand the test would not hesitate with the answer. The gain was worthy of the game. This that we keep in our hearts authorizes the risk. It costs the price. And even more.

There are not so many values in this world, which do not depreciate in ages. But from the moment of the first Ushba ascents in the end of XIX century when Austrian climbers conquered unknown heights of the highest mountains of Caucasus until nowadays when alpinists climb Ushba risking get to Russian jail for the crime of crossing border and without any hope to get rescue help in case of accident – the value of the thing did not change for a jot – definitely, the game is worth the candle.

Central Caucasus, climbing Ushba To the two summits of Ushba many routes were climbed, but among them there are no easy ones – only for the strongest and most experienced climbers this mountain is accessible. Names of the Ushba first climbers had become a legend long ago – Cockin, Khergiani, Myshliaev, Abalakov... In the former USSR there was no climber who became Master without knowing all the meaning of this two-syllable word - Ushba. Among Russian climbers, people who climbed Ushba were called Ushbists and it was a reason for particular respect – after all they have the unique experience, to get which was possible only in confrontation with the Queen of Caucasus – Ushba. Even the categories of difficulty, so well systematized in Soviet mountain climbing, didn’t work well for Ushba routes which were not allowed for the sportsmen without experience of other mountains of the same category. Ushba always was the one of the most famous technical mountains in Soviet Union and in Russia.

Most likely you have already understood that for me Ushba is not "mere mountain". From the very beginning of my acquaintance with the mountains, Ushba for me was some kind of criteria by which can be measured purity of aspiration, power of fortitude and inflexibility of will. It is The Mountain. May be I am a bit Svanetian in my soul. But after my first Ushba ascent I felt myself another man. And success of our memorial International Ushba climb in 2002 also based on the common for all the participants understanding of exceptional importance of Ushba and sincere devotion to it.

But this Legend Mountain, cherished dream of so many climbers, has become outlawed today.

One more striking fact about Ushba, quite well matched with the others. How was it possible that world famous mountain, inseparable part of the history of Russian and International Mountain climbing suddenly became forbidden, and climbing of it – grave crime? Nevertheless, it is the situation of today.

Ushba is located in the short South spur of the Main Caucasian Mountain Range. For Russia it means the territory of Georgia the border with which goes by the line of the Main Range. And our politics are at the terms of personal insults – for countries it results in been at war.

Central Caucasus, climbing Ushba The state is to protect its borders. But from whom they are to be protected? From the enemy, it is clear, from criminals, smugglers and terrorists. But Ushba has no interest for any of these people. It is hard even to imagine more fantastic, difficult and tricky way to encroach the border.

No. Hundreds of the armed to the teeth Russian border guards protect Ushba only from alpinists. For what is it done? Who is interested in taking away from harmless people their clear joy of the victory? How it happened that the people who were saving my life without thinking of theirs and cried afterwards on the summit in exultation of common victory – how is it possible that now, as propaganda says, they have become my enemies? No, something is totally wrong here. It cannot be so. May be I don’t understand or making a muddle of it. Is it possible that the people became the enemies of their own country?

I just look through the old photos from Ushba expedition. Bygone climb of the mountain, forbidden now.

P.S. If this text will strike occasionally an eye of somebody from those empowered to resolve the affairs of the state, please think, just think – what is wrong if the mountain climbers have a legal possibility not only to look and listen the old people stories of Ushba but to climb it as well?! Is it really political deadlock without any solution – the possibility of access to the majestic towers of Ushba from the Russian side, as it was for more than 100 years? Is it really impossible for politics to make one friendly step even not to each other but to their own people at least, to the sportsmen, who dream of climbing the impossibly beautiful mountain and to enjoy with the friends the common victory, gained so hard?! Is it really so difficult and seriously threats the State interests?

Our Principles

AlexClimb Rule #1 - Safety First

From the very beginning of our activity, here nearly 16 years, the first Principle of work of School of mountaineering and rock-climbing of MCS AlexClimb is the Safety Priority. On the basis of this Principle all process of training is based, all programs and rounds are developed and carried out only within this main principle. We consider that at professional approach to development of programs, at personal discipline and correctly put motivation - occupations by mountaineering and rock-climbing are COMPLETELY safe. And from the return - all troubles and accidents in our sport come from nonprofessionalism, from ignorance or neglect by elementary standards of safety, from irrational motivation, from revaluation of own forces and opportunities. All these prerequisites we COMPLETELY EXCLUDE in our work - ours Rock-climbing, Ice climbing and Mountaineering are based on one Principle - the Safety Priority. In rock-climbing, mountaineering and ice climbing, the Priority of Safety of MCS AlexClimb-is your personal security and comfort irrespective of, than we are engaged - we train muscles and we work technology of the movement in the sports hall and on the rock climbing wall, we make the way through snowstorm to top or we relax on golden sand of the Caribbean beach after hot day of trainings on rocks. The Safety priority - the main credo of School of mountaineering and rock-climbing of MCS AlexClimb.

AlexClimb Rule #2 - Leave No Trace

Closely interacting with Nature, working with the active programs in mountains, woods, lakes and rivers, we perfectly understand the importance of carefull and respectfull bahavior towards the Nature, for its resources. From the very beginning of our outdoor-activity we adopted rules of  Leave No Trace technique - the standard of behavior of the person accepted in all the civilized world in relation to environment and especially - to the wild nature. After all on the relation of people to the nature near which they exist, itself can draw dalekoidushchy conclusions on the relation of these people to... Where and as we didn't travel - we don't reserve any garbage, we try to reduce whenever possible our influence on environment to a minimum. We clear earlier zagryazyonny tourist parking of the left garbage, we take out and we take out to utilization places that to us other people left there. We consider that only thus, at personal individual consciousness of each citizen, each tourist, climber or autotraveller, we will be able to keep the nature surrounding us in its state, natural, suitable for life, - in it pledge of the healthy future for ourselves and our children.

AlexClimb Rule #3 - Sober Concious

The position of AlexClimb Mountain and rockclimbing School regarding healthy lifestyle is quite clear - we consider that only sober consciousness is capable to fill sincere emotions,  to sympathize, to enjoy life in all its variety. Bright various enjoyable life is possible only on condition of keeping the absolute sobriety and purity of consciousness. Any way of obscuring our perception of reality is intended to do harm to our consciousness and bring harm to our physical health, to replace the true values by false ones, to destroy us physically - to turn us into flabby, weak, senseless, gray herd with empty hazy eyes. We don't force anybody to our point of view, everyone has a God's gift of making his own choice and to destroy himself if that is what he wants... But in AlexCilimb Mountain Climbing School we accept quite certain and very simple set of rules: neither alcohol, nor drugs.
X

Оферта

Школа альпинизма и скалолазания

 или 
все мероприятия
+7 926 233 3300 (whatsapp)
+44 793 797 3396
 info@alexclimb.com

Статьи

Ушба. Запрещённая вершина

Запрещённая Вершина.

(автор А. Трубачёв)

Фотографии

Посвящается моим друзьям, погибшим при восхождении на Ушбу.

Центральный Кавказ, восхождение на Ушбу

Я смотрю на старые фотографии. Вижу суровые лица людей, рисковавших жизнью ради настоящей дружбы и общей, неделимой на мелкие части победы. А общая победа, как и настоящая дружба не знает ни государственных, ни национальных различий и границ. Кого-то из этих людей уже нет в живых. Но их уход не окутан стыдливыми увёртками и туманными недомолвками. Всё ясно и просто. Они знали, зачем и куда шли. И знали, какую цену могут заплатить. И заплатили. Сполна.

Центральный Кавказ, восхождение на Ушбу Давно началась эта история, замысловатыми узлами заплетённая вокруг вершины со странным и тревожным названием – Ушба. С незапамятных времён нависает эта гора мрачной скальной громадой над сванским селением Местия, своим суровым величием с малых лет наполняя сердца горцев отвагой и гордостью за свой народ. Как это получается – загадка, но, может, и не важно – как. Важно то, что простой путешественник, случайно оказавшийся на дороге, которая, рассекая горный склон, петлями спускается к Местии, даже чужой этим горам человек чувствует странное напряжение. И не составляет труда определить его источник – строгую, величественную вершину, устрашающе правильной формы, вертикальное основание которой, кажется, опирается на самый край селения, где древние сванские башни уже почти тысячу лет берут с этой горы пример гордой неприступности.

Ушба для Сванетии - гора особенная. Любой мужчина этой крошечной горной страны вырастает с глубоким чувством уважения и трепета перед своим самым достойным личным испытанием – Ушбой. В самом облике этой горы заложен вызов мужеству человека. Неприступная и величественная, Ушба всё время служит напоминанием, побуждающим самых отважных на поступок, дерзость которого не укладывается в схему бытовых необходимостей. Без малейшего корыстного интереса сваны рискуют жизнью ради чистой, бессмысленной с общепринятой точки зрения, но огромной ценой дающейся победы – восхождения на вершину Ушбы. Не за деньгами или наградами сваны идут на Ушбу. Нет там ни хозяйственного, ни охотничьего интереса. Единственный в своём роде факт, удивительный, как и вся история Сванетии - небольшой горной страны, чей гордый и вольный нрав сама природа выразила в форме Горы.

Центральный Кавказ, восхождение на Ушбу Нет в Сванетии большего повода для гордости и уважения, чем восхождение на Ушбу, недоступную, казалось бы, для смертного вершину. За это уникальное качество я особенно люблю и уважаю сванский народ.

Для нас, российских альпинистов, привыкших видеть Ушбу с другой стороны, с севера, эта гора не имеет столь метафизического значения, как для жителей Сванетии, но всё же, ее вид приковывает взгляд и устрашает. Величественная двуглавая вершина полноправно царит над всей линией Кавказского хребта. Никаких сомнений – перед вами Королева. Самая высокая. Самая стройная. И недоступная.

Ни одна из вершин Кавказа не овеяна таким ореолом легенд, историй и драматических фактов как Ушба. Это Гора – Легенда, ничуть не менее знаменитая, чем европейский символ альпинизма – Маттерхорн. В чём-то очень похожи эти две горы, какое-то странное внутреннее сходство объединяет их.

Исторически – та же параллель. Не было бы такой драматики и самопожертвования в рождении альпинизма в Альпах, если бы не Маттерхорн. И, кто знает, как бы развивался советский альпинизм, если бы не Ушба?!

Для десятка поколений альпинистов Ушба стала фундаментом мастерства, критерием зрелости. На рассказах о легендарных восхождениях на Ушбу воспитывали в молодых спортсменах уважение и стремление к совершенствованию альпинистских навыков. Но не каждому удавалось достичь желанной цели. Жестокость и коварство Ушбы тоже были частью славы этой вершины. Много жизней оборвалось здесь...

И, как обычно, я слышу этот вопрос – а стоило ли?! Горе родным, скорбь друзьям. Ради чего?! Лёд и камень, безумие могучей стихии... Но те, кто принял вызов и выдержал этот поединок, не замешкаются с ответом. Стоило. То, что осталось в сердце, оправдывает тот риск. Многократно.

Мало в мире ценностей, которые не стареют. Но с момента первых восхождений на Ушбу в конце 19 века, когда австрийские альпинисты впервые поднимались на неизведанные высоты сложнейших вершин Кавказа, и до наших дней, когда, рискуя оказаться за решёткой за нарушение государственной границы и даже не надеясь на помощь в случае неудачи, альпинисты выходят на сложнейшие маршруты – цена вопроса не изменилась ни на йоту – игра определённо стоит свеч.

Центральный Кавказ, восхождение на Ушбу На Ушбу проложено много красивейших маршрутов, среди которых нет простых – только самым сильным и опытным доступна эта гора. Имена первовосходителей тоже давно стали легендой – Коккин, Хергиани, Мышляев, Абалаков…. В Союзе не было ни одного спортсмена, перешагнувшего мастерский рубеж, который бы не знал всей глубины значения этого короткого слова – Ушба. Ушбистов уважали особенно, – ведь у них был уникальный опыт, получить который можно было только в противостоянии с Королевой Кавказа – с Ушбой. Даже категории сложности для маршрутов на Ушбу не попадали в общие рамки спортивных разрядов, – на Ушбинские маршруты не выпускали спортсменов, не имевших опыта восхождений на маршруты той же категории. Ушба всегда была самой известной в стране технической вершиной Кавказа.

Как, наверно, вы уже поняли, для меня Ушба - не просто вершина. С самого начала моего знакомства с горами, Ушба была критерием, по которому измеряется чистота устремлений, сила мужества, несгибаемость воли. Это - Вершина. Наверно в душе я немного сван. Но после моего первого восхождения на Ушбу я почувствовал себя другим человеком. И успех нашего мемориального восхождения в 2002 году тоже во многом основан на общем для всех участников понимании исключительной важности Ушбы и благоговейного отношения к ней.

Но Гора-Легенда, заветная мечта стольких альпинистов, теперь оказалась вне закона.

Ещё один удивительный факт, вполне подстать остальным. Как это возможно, что известная на весь мир вершина, неотделимая часть истории нашего, советского, и теперь российского альпинизма, вдруг оказалась под запретом, а восхождение на Ушбу - стало тяжким преступлением. Тем не менее, на сегодняшний день ситуация такова.

Ушба находится в коротком Южном отроге Главного Кавказского хребта. То есть за границей, которая по этому самому хребту проходит. Граница с Грузией, для тех, кто ещё не догадался. А Грузия для нас теперь враг.

Центральный Кавказ, восхождение на Ушбу Государство должно охранять свои границы. От кого нужно их охранять? От врагов, разумеется, от преступников, контрабандистов и террористов. Но никому из этих криминальных элементов Ушба не интересна. Более фантастический, сложный и замысловатый способ нарушить границу даже предположить трудно.

Нет, сотни до зубов вооружённых российских солдат-пограничников охраняют Ушбу только от альпинистов. Зачем? Кому нужно отнимать у людей чистую радость спортивной победы? Как случилось, что те, кто не щадя собственной жизни спасали мою, а потом плакали на вершине от радости общей победы – теперь, как утверждает пропаганда, стали врагами?! Нет, что-то здесь не так. Не может такого быть. Я что-то не понял или всё перепутал. Ведь не может же быть, чтобы врагами государства стали его собственные граждане?!

Просто я смотрел старые фотографии из экспедиции на Ушбу. Запрещённую теперь вершину.

P.S. Если (вдруг) данный текст попадётся на глаза кому-нибудь из тех, в чьих руках есть сила и власть над вопросами государственного масштаба, подумайте, просто подумайте, не больше - что плохого в том, что у альпинистов будет возможность не только смотреть на Ушбу и внимать рассказам ветеранов?! Неужели это неразрешимый политический тупик – то, что величественные вершины Ушбы могут быть доступны с российской стороны, как было на протяжении уже более 100 лет? Неужели политикам так сложно сделать шаг навстречу, пусть даже не друг другу, а хотя бы собственным гражданам, спортсменам, чей интерес лишь в том, чтобы на вершине потрясающе красивой горы испытать чистую радость победы?! Неужели это ТАК трудно и глубоко ущемляет государственные интересы?

Наши принципы

Правило AlexClimb #1 - Приоритет Безопасности

С самого начала нашей деятельности, вот уже почти 16 лет, первым Принципом работы Школы альпинизма и скалолазания MCS AlexClimb  является Приоритет Безопасности. На основе этого Принципа строится весь процесс обучения, все программы и туры разрабатываются и проводятся исключительно в рамках этого главного Принципа. Мы считаем, что при профессиональном подходе к разработке программ, при личной дисциплине и правильно поставленной мотивации - занятия альпинизмом и скалолазанием ПОЛНОСТЬЮ безопасны. И от обратного - все неприятности и аварии в нашем виде спорта происходят от непрофессионализма, от незнания либо пренебрежения элементарными нормами безопасности, от нерациональной мотивации, от переоценки собственных сил и возможностей. Все эти предпосылки мы ПОЛНОСТЬЮ ИСКЛЮЧАЕМ в нашей работе - наши Скалолазание, Ледолазание и Альпинизм основаны на одном Принципе - Приоритете Безопасности. В скалолазании, альпинизме и ледолазании, Приоритет Безопасности MCS AlexClimb- это Ваша личная безопасность и комфорт, независимо от того, чем мы занимаемся - тренируем мышцы и отрабатываем технику движения в спортзале и на скалодроме, пробиваемся сквозь пургу к вершине или расслабляемся на золотистом песке Карибского пляжа после жаркого дня тренировок на скалах. Приоритет Безопасности - основное кредо Школы альпинизма и скалолазания MCS AlexClimb. 

Правило AlexClimb #2 - Не Оставляй Следов

Вплотную взаимодействуя с природой, проводя активные программы в горах, лесах, на реках и озёрах, мы прекрасно понимаем важность береженого и уважительного отношения к природе, к её ресурсам. С самого начала нашей outdoor-деятельности мы взяли на вооружение технику Leave No Trace - принятую во всём цивилизованном мире норму поведения человека по отношению к окружающей среде и особенно - к дикой природе. Ведь по отношению людей к природе, рядом с которой они существуют, можно сделать далекоидущие выводы об отношении этих людей к самим себе... Где бы и как мы не путешествовали - мы не оставляем за собой никакого мусора, стараемся по возможности сократить наше влияние на окружающую среду до минимума. Мы очищаем ранее загрязённые туристические стоянки от оставленного мусора, выносим и вывозим к местам утилизации то, что до нас там оставили другие люди. Мы считаем, что только таким образом, при личной индивидуальной сознательности каждого гражданина, каждого туриста, альпиниста или автопутешественника, мы сможем сохранить окружающую нас природу в её естественном, пригодном для жизни состоянии - в этом залог здорового будущего для нас самих и наших детей.  

Правило AlexClimb #3 - Трезвое сознание

Позиция Школы альпинизма и скалолазания MCS AlexClimb отностительно здорового образа жизни понятна - мы считаем, что только трезвое сознание способно искренне переживать и сочувствовать, наслаждаться жизнью во всём её многообразии. Яркая и полноценная жизнь возможна только при условии соблюдения абсолютной трезвости и чистоты сознания. Любые препараты, затуманивающие наше восприятие действительности, предназначены для того, чтобы нанести вред нашему сознанию и физическому здоровью, подменить истинные ценности ложными, уничтожить нас как людей - превратить в дряблое, бессильное, бессмыссленное, серое стадо с мутными глазами. Мы не навязываем никому свою точку зрения, у каждого есть возможность совершить свой собственный выбор. Но внутри нашей Школы мы негласно принимаем вполне определённый, очень простой набор правил: ни алкоголя, ни наркотиков.
X

Оферта