Mountain climbing school

 or 
all events
+7 926 233 3300 (whatsapp)
+44 793 7973396 (whatsapp)
 info@alexclimb.com

Gestola

In this section you will find the most objective technical information on the mountain climbing routes. All mountain route descriptions are based on the personal experience of our guides operating these routes. They do not claim for absolute accuracy, evaluation of the complexity of some sections can be subjective and depend on the season. All materials listed in that section are intellectual property and intended for informational purposes only, any commercial use or total or partial reproduction is possible only by written permission of the copyright holder. MCS AlexClimb School of Mountaineering and Rockclimbing takes no responsibility for any consequences of using the information provided on this page. Do not forget that mountain climbing routes can be deadly dangerous regardless of their complexity.

Caucasus, Russia - Georgia, Bezengi - Svanetia.
Climbing Peak Gestola. Season: June - September (Best time - August - September)

Information intended for evaluation purposes only. In order to avoid surprises and possible dangers and complications, we recommend to take part in the organized program of the MCS AlexClimb "Caucasus Bezengi climbing, climbing Peak Gestola" or "Climbing Peak Gestola from Svanetia" - by well known route, accompanied by experienced guides. This will significantly increase the probability of success and safety of your climbing in Svanetia. 

Peak Gestola is one of the most beautiful mountains of the central part of the Main Caucasian Range, not so known as Ushba or Dykh Tau, but not less interesting for climbing and not less attractive by the correctness of its forms. Peak Gestola is located directly on the border of Russia and Georgia, its summit is equally accessible both from the famous mountaineering center Bezengi (Kabardino-Balkaria) and from the rapidly developing mountain resort Mestia (Svaneti) in Georgia. If you look from the bottom of Bezengi gorge to the side of famous Bezengi Wall, the first mountain you will see is Gestola, the flawlessly correct snow triangle that closes the valley and separates the sharp rocky peaks from the deep blue sky. Literally, this is one of those mountains that you can see once and remember for all your life. The summit of Gestola, due to its simple and memorable form, has become a symbol of the whole Bezengi region, it is the most frequently photographed and pictured mountain of this region of the North Caucasus. Unfortunately, at the moment (2018), access to the summit of Gestola from Russia is closed - apparently, in the interests of state security, ascent to Gestola from Russia is prohibited.

If you look at Gestola from the side of Georgia, the first thing that catches your eye is its almost identical resemblance to the neighboring mountain Tetnuld - these two twin mountains are connected to each other by a long saddle, through which both mountains can be traversed in several days of quite tough climb. There are several routes to the Summit of Gestola of medium and high difficulty, there are no easy climbing routes to that mountain. Despite the obvious interest for mountaineering, there are relatively few ascents of Gestola peak done annually - this is justified by bureaucratic difficulties and bans on the part of Russia from where the access route is relatively easier, and as from Georgia all the climber’s attention is concentrated on the neighboring Mount Tetnuld, which is simpler technically and has more convenient infrastructure.

As mentioned above, the summit of Gestola is accessible both from Russia and from Georgia. Unfortunately, at the present moment (2018) there is a ban on climbing to the summit of Gestola from Russia, from where there is a simpler approach route to Gestola from the mountaineering camp Bezengi. You can get to the camp by car from Nalchik (3 hours) or Mineralnye Vody (5 hours), then the further way is obvious and does not present any difficulties. The approach route to Gestola from Georgia begins from the Jabeshi village (10 hours by car from Tbilisi) and goes through incredibly beautiful Zannery canyon. The route to Gestola from Georgia requires a good knowledge of the area - the trails marked on the old maps exist no longer and it is very difficult to find a way up the gorge to the Zanner glacier. The most of the problem is represented by the lower part of the approach, after getting to the left branch of Zanner glacier, there are no problems. 

With the two variants of approach - from Russia or from Georgia, there is only one route of ascent to the summit of Gestola. The classical route starts from the border pass of Zanner and goes via the adjacent Mount Lyalver. Climbing Lyalver is the crux part of all the Gestola climb. On the way up to the top of Lyalver you have to overcome technically difficult rocky pitches of moderate difficulty, on the unstable and loose slate rocks, with a high probability of rockfall. As a rule, the groups going to Gestola climb Lyalver with a full set of equipment for the bivouac, and set the camp in the saddle 4300 m at the base of the West Buttress of Gestola. If the group is sufficiently prepared and physically strong - it is possible to climb Gestola without the upper camp, from the bivouac near Zanner pass, but this is quite difficult physically. On the route you have to be very attentive to any signs of coming thunderstorm, it is noticed frequent lightning strikes the crest and the summit of Lyalver - in bad weather it is advised to be especially careful climbing this part of the route.

Our Principles

AlexClimb Rule #1 - Safety First

From the very beginning of our activity, here nearly 16 years, the first Principle of work of School of mountaineering and rock-climbing of MCS AlexClimb is the Safety Priority. On the basis of this Principle all process of training is based, all programs and rounds are developed and carried out only within this main principle. We consider that at professional approach to development of programs, at personal discipline and correctly put motivation - occupations by mountaineering and rock-climbing are COMPLETELY safe. And from the return - all troubles and accidents in our sport come from nonprofessionalism, from ignorance or neglect by elementary standards of safety, from irrational motivation, from revaluation of own forces and opportunities. All these prerequisites we COMPLETELY EXCLUDE in our work - ours Rock-climbing, Ice climbing and Mountaineering are based on one Principle - the Safety Priority. In rock-climbing, mountaineering and ice climbing, the Priority of Safety of MCS AlexClimb-is your personal security and comfort irrespective of, than we are engaged - we train muscles and we work technology of the movement in the sports hall and on the rock climbing wall, we make the way through snowstorm to top or we relax on golden sand of the Caribbean beach after hot day of trainings on rocks. The Safety priority - the main credo of School of mountaineering and rock-climbing of MCS AlexClimb.

AlexClimb Rule #2 - Leave No Trace

Closely interacting with Nature, working with the active programs in mountains, woods, lakes and rivers, we perfectly understand the importance of carefull and respectfull bahavior towards the Nature, for its resources. From the very beginning of our outdoor-activity we adopted rules of  Leave No Trace technique - the standard of behavior of the person accepted in all the civilized world in relation to environment and especially - to the wild nature. After all on the relation of people to the nature near which they exist, itself can draw dalekoidushchy conclusions on the relation of these people to... Where and as we didn't travel - we don't reserve any garbage, we try to reduce whenever possible our influence on environment to a minimum. We clear earlier zagryazyonny tourist parking of the left garbage, we take out and we take out to utilization places that to us other people left there. We consider that only thus, at personal individual consciousness of each citizen, each tourist, climber or autotraveller, we will be able to keep the nature surrounding us in its state, natural, suitable for life, - in it pledge of the healthy future for ourselves and our children.

AlexClimb Rule #3 - Sober Concious

The position of AlexClimb Mountain and rockclimbing School regarding healthy lifestyle is quite clear - we consider that only sober consciousness is capable to fill sincere emotions,  to sympathize, to enjoy life in all its variety. Bright various enjoyable life is possible only on condition of keeping the absolute sobriety and purity of consciousness. Any way of obscuring our perception of reality is intended to do harm to our consciousness and bring harm to our physical health, to replace the true values by false ones, to destroy us physically - to turn us into flabby, weak, senseless, gray herd with empty hazy eyes. We don't force anybody to our point of view, everyone has a God's gift of making his own choice and to destroy himself if that is what he wants... But in AlexCilimb Mountain Climbing School we accept quite certain and very simple set of rules: neither alcohol, nor drugs.
X

Оферта

Школа альпинизма и скалолазания

 или 
все мероприятия
+7 926 233 3300 (whatsapp)
+44 793 797 3396
 info@alexclimb.com

Гестола

В этом разделе Вы найдёте максимально объективную техническую информацию о маршрутах альпинистских восхождений. Описания маршрутов составлены на основе личного опыта гидов, работающих на этих маршрутах. Они не претендуют на абсолютную точность, оценка сложности отдельных участков может быть субъективной и зависеть от сезона. Все материалы являются частной интеллектуальной собственностью и предназначены для ознакомительных целей, любое их коммерческое использование либо полное или частичное воспроизведение возможно только по письменному соглашению с правообладателем. Школа альпинизма и скалолазания AlexClimb не несёт никакой ответственности за возможные последствия использования информации, изложенной на этой странице. Не забывайте, что альпинистские маршруты могут быть смертельно опасны независимо от их сложности.

Кавказ, Россия - Грузия, Безенги - Сванетия.
Восхождение на Гестола. Сезон июнь-сентябрь (лучшее время - август - сентябрь)

Информация исключительно для ознакомительных целей. Для того, чтобы избежать неприятных неожиданностей и возможных трудностей, мы рекомендуем принять участие в организованной программе Школы MCS AlexClimb "Восхождение на Гестола из Безенги" или "Восхождение на Гестола из Сванетии" - по уже отработанным маршрутам, в сопровождении опытных гидов. Это существенно повысит вероятность успеха и безопасность всего мероприятия. 

Вершина Гестола – одна из красивейших вершин центральной части Главного Кавказского хребта, не такая известная как Ушба или Дых Тау, но не менее интересная для восхождений и не менее привлекательная правильностью своих форм. Гестола расположена непосредственно на границе России и Грузии, её вершина равнодоступна как из известного альпинистского центра Безенги (Кабардино-Балкария), так и из стремительно развивающегося горнего курорта Местиа (Сванетия) со стороны Грузии. Если смотреть снизу из Безенгийского ущелья в сторону знаменитой Безенгийской Стены, то первая вершина, которую вы увидите, будет именно Гестола, безупречно правильный снежный треугольник которой замыкает долину и чётко выделяется острым пиков в глубокой синеве неба. Буквально, это одна из тех вершин, которые можно увидеть один раз и запомнить на всю жизнь. Вершина Гестола, благодаря своей простой и запоминающейся форме, давно стала символом Безенгийского ущелья, это наиболее часто фотографируемая и изображаемая на картинах вершина этого района Северного Кавказа. К сожалению, на данный момент (2018), доступ к вершине Гестола со стороны России закрыт – видимо, в интересах государственной безопасности, восхождения на Гестола со стороны России запрещены.

Если смотреть на Гестола со стороны Грузии, то первое, что бросается в глаза, это её практически идентичное сходство с расположенный напротив вершиной Тетнульд – эти две горы-близняшки соединены длинной ледовой перемычкой, через которую возможно восхождение траверсом на обе горы. На вершину Гестола ведут несколько маршрутов средней и высокой сложности, простых маршрутов подъёма нет. Несмотря на очевидный интерес для альпинизма, восхождений на вершину Гестола совершается сравнительно немного – это обосновано с одной стороны бюрократическими трудностями и запретами со стороны России, откуда к вершине Гестола ведёт более простой маршрут подъёма, а со стороны Грузии всё внимание альпинистов сосредоточено на соседней вершине Тетнульд, несколько более простой технически и обладающей более доступной инфраструктурой.

Как упоминалось выше, вершина Гестола доступна как со стороны России, так и со стороны Грузии. К сожалению, в данный момент (2018) действует запрет на восхождение на вершину Гестола со стороны России, откуда ведёт более простой маршрут подъёма к Гестола из альпинистского лагеря Безенги. Добраться до лагеря можно на машине из Нальчика (3 часа) или Минеральных вод (5 часов), далее маршрут подъёма очевиден и не представляет трудности. Маршрут подъёма из Грузии начинается из деревни Джабеши (на машине от Тбилиси 10 часов) и ведёт через ущелье Цаннери. Маршрут подъёма на Гестола из Грузии требует хорошего знания района – троп, обозначенных на старых картах, более не существует и найти путь вверх по ущелью до ледника Цаннер может оказаться очень сложно. Причём проблему представляет именно нижняя часть подхода, после выхода на ледник Цаннер никаких проблем нет.

При двух вариантах подхода – из России или из Грузии, маршрут восхождения на Гестолу – один. Классический маршрут подъёма на вершину Гестола начинается с пограничного перевала Цаннер и ведёт через примыкающую к массиву Гестола вершину Ляльвер. Подъём на Ляльвер является ключевым участком, представляющим техническую трудность. На подъёме требуется преодоление технически сложных скальных участков умеренной трудности, на нестабильных и довольно разрушенных сланцевых скалах, с высокой вероятностью камнепада. Как правило, на вершину Ляльвер поднимаются с полным комплектом снаряжения для бивуака, штурмовой лагерь ставят в седловине 4300 под «плечом» Гестола. Если группа достаточно подготовлена и сильна физически – возможно восхождение без верхнего лагеря, с ночёвок под перевалом Цаннер, но это довольно тяжело физически. Высокую опасность на маршруте представляет гроза, замечено частое попадание молнии в гребень и вершину Ляльвер – в плохую погоду надо особенно соблюдать осторожность на данном участке.

Наши принципы

Правило AlexClimb #1 - Приоритет Безопасности

С самого начала нашей деятельности, вот уже почти 16 лет, первым Принципом работы Школы альпинизма и скалолазания MCS AlexClimb  является Приоритет Безопасности. На основе этого Принципа строится весь процесс обучения, все программы и туры разрабатываются и проводятся исключительно в рамках этого главного Принципа. Мы считаем, что при профессиональном подходе к разработке программ, при личной дисциплине и правильно поставленной мотивации - занятия альпинизмом и скалолазанием ПОЛНОСТЬЮ безопасны. И от обратного - все неприятности и аварии в нашем виде спорта происходят от непрофессионализма, от незнания либо пренебрежения элементарными нормами безопасности, от нерациональной мотивации, от переоценки собственных сил и возможностей. Все эти предпосылки мы ПОЛНОСТЬЮ ИСКЛЮЧАЕМ в нашей работе - наши Скалолазание, Ледолазание и Альпинизм основаны на одном Принципе - Приоритете Безопасности. В скалолазании, альпинизме и ледолазании, Приоритет Безопасности MCS AlexClimb- это Ваша личная безопасность и комфорт, независимо от того, чем мы занимаемся - тренируем мышцы и отрабатываем технику движения в спортзале и на скалодроме, пробиваемся сквозь пургу к вершине или расслабляемся на золотистом песке Карибского пляжа после жаркого дня тренировок на скалах. Приоритет Безопасности - основное кредо Школы альпинизма и скалолазания MCS AlexClimb. 

Правило AlexClimb #2 - Не Оставляй Следов

Вплотную взаимодействуя с природой, проводя активные программы в горах, лесах, на реках и озёрах, мы прекрасно понимаем важность береженого и уважительного отношения к природе, к её ресурсам. С самого начала нашей outdoor-деятельности мы взяли на вооружение технику Leave No Trace - принятую во всём цивилизованном мире норму поведения человека по отношению к окружающей среде и особенно - к дикой природе. Ведь по отношению людей к природе, рядом с которой они существуют, можно сделать далекоидущие выводы об отношении этих людей к самим себе... Где бы и как мы не путешествовали - мы не оставляем за собой никакого мусора, стараемся по возможности сократить наше влияние на окружающую среду до минимума. Мы очищаем ранее загрязённые туристические стоянки от оставленного мусора, выносим и вывозим к местам утилизации то, что до нас там оставили другие люди. Мы считаем, что только таким образом, при личной индивидуальной сознательности каждого гражданина, каждого туриста, альпиниста или автопутешественника, мы сможем сохранить окружающую нас природу в её естественном, пригодном для жизни состоянии - в этом залог здорового будущего для нас самих и наших детей.  

Правило AlexClimb #3 - Трезвое сознание

Позиция Школы альпинизма и скалолазания MCS AlexClimb отностительно здорового образа жизни понятна - мы считаем, что только трезвое сознание способно искренне переживать и сочувствовать, наслаждаться жизнью во всём её многообразии. Яркая и полноценная жизнь возможна только при условии соблюдения абсолютной трезвости и чистоты сознания. Любые препараты, затуманивающие наше восприятие действительности, предназначены для того, чтобы нанести вред нашему сознанию и физическому здоровью, подменить истинные ценности ложными, уничтожить нас как людей - превратить в дряблое, бессильное, бессмыссленное, серое стадо с мутными глазами. Мы не навязываем никому свою точку зрения, у каждого есть возможность совершить свой собственный выбор. Но внутри нашей Школы мы негласно принимаем вполне определённый, очень простой набор правил: ни алкоголя, ни наркотиков.
X

Оферта